School Board Honors 30 District Retirees

School district retirees were honored June 21 by the school board.

The Board of Education June 21 honored 30 retired township employees.

The employees ranged from teachers to office workers.

Special mention was made of Rick Goetz, a 36-year veteran who most recently served as supervisor of maintenance, grounds and custodial services, and Maureen Manning, the assistant business administrator for 12 years.

Those honored with a special plaque were:

Name, position, years of service

  • John (Rick) Goetz, Supervisor of Building & Grounds, 36
  • Adele Lauretta, Secretary, Central Office, 25
  • Maureen Manning, Assistant Business Administrator/Assistant Board Secretary, 12
  • Janet Grosso, Paraprofessional, Conerly Road School, 27
  • Joseph Harris, Safety Officer, Conerly Road School, 24
  • Robert Nemeth, Custodian, Elizabeth Avenue School, 11
  • Gloria Albertalli-Wenson, School Psychologist, Franklin High School, 17
  • Lisa Kaplan, Math Teacher, Franklin High School, 14
  • Deborah Brown, English Teacher, Franklin High School, 12
  • Ricky Weber, Safety Officer, Franklin High School, 13
  • Ruth Mazza, Food Services Worker, Franklin High School, 13
  • Christopher Davis, Physics Teacher, Franklin High School, 36
  • Joseph Myatt, Health/P.E. Teacher, Franklin High School, 21
  • Marianne Strickhart, Science Teacher, Franklin High School, 27
  • Meghan Lordon, ESL Teacher, Franklin High School, 5
  • Ellen Barnes, LDTC Teacher, Franklin High School, 16
  • Bonnie Rich, Secretary, Franklin Middle School, 14
  • Lawrence Weser, Science Teacher, Franklin Middle School, 12
  • Lois Cody, School Psychologist, Franklin Park School, 10
  • Victoria Bartizal, School Nurse, Franklin Park School, 21
  • Karen Merlini, Pre K Teacher, Hillcrest School, 19
  • Donna Geyer, Kindergarten Teacher, MacAfee Road School, 26
  • Phyllis Majewski, Special Ed Teacher, MacAfee Road School, 43
  • Elizabeth Tallmadge, Paraprofessional, MacAfee Road School, 28
  • Jean Goetz, Elementary Teacher, MacAfee Road School, 21
  • Janet Naman, Paraprofessional, MacAfee Road School, 16
  • Renee Purrelli, Elementary Teacher, Sampson G. Smith School, 17
  • Eva Baranowski, English Teacher, Sampson G. Smith School, 11
  • Deborah Godbolt-Jackson, Bus Driver, 13
  • Betty Lou Lewis, Transportation Coordinator, 17

Some of the retirees honored showed up at the meeting to receive their plaques:


Your Thoughts


Please Support Independent Journalism In Franklin Township!

No other media outlet covering Franklin Township brings you the depth of information presented by the Franklin Reporter & Advocate. Period. We are the only truly independent media serving the Eight Villages.

But we can only do that with your support. Please consider a yearly subscription to our online news site; at $37 a year, it’s one of the best investments you can make in our community.

To subscribe, please click here.

Other News From The Eight Villages …