Franklin Woman’s Club Awards Seven Scholarships

Anjana Nair, Maitri Shah, Madison Whiting, Sierra Schiff, Summer Thompson, Gabriella Consiglio and Karinna Rao, left to right, were awarded $1,000 scholarships each May 15 by the Franklin Woman’s Club. Photo: Franklin Woman’s Club.

Seven Franklin High School seniors were recently awarded a total of $7,000 in scholarships by the Franklin Woman’s Club.

The $1,000 individual scholarships were presented at the annual club dinner on May 15. Money for the scholarships was raised through the club’s annual Tricky Tray fundraiser.

Money will also be donated toward a scholarship for an Elijah’ Promise Culinary School student, according to a press release about the scholarships.

The FHS students receiving the scholarships were: Gabriella Consiglio, Anjana Nair, Karinna Rao, Sierra Schiff, Maitri Shah, Summer Thompson and Madison Whiting. These recipients were selected based on their scholastic achievement, community service, school activity participation and displays of leadership along with letters of recommendation, according to the release.

The Franklin Woman’s Club has been offering scholarships for more than 25 years. This year, the club dedicated its scholarship awards to the memory of Kim Thorne, who served as the FWC Co-President for the 2017-2018 club year.  Sadly, her service was cut short due to her unexpected death in October after a very brief illness. Prior to that, she served in several other club leadership positions, including the founding of its book club.

“The education committee reviewed applications this year from a large number of students, all of whom reside in Franklin Township and attend a variety of schools in Somerset County,” Tracy Muse, FWC Education Chair, said in the release.  “We were excited and impressed by all who applied and their accomplishments.”

“Although all were qualified, we could only select seven for this award,” she said in the release. “It is amazing how actively involved these young ladies have been, juggling school work, giving back to their community and working while maintaining academic excellence.”

Members of the club’s Scholarship Committee are: Tracy Muse (Education Chair), Phyllis Beals, Lisa Casazza, Sharon Coney, Nancy Gale, Sherice McQueen, Joanne Murset and Sheila Snell.


Your Thoughts


Please Support Independent Journalism In Franklin Township!

No other media outlet covering Franklin Township brings you the depth of information presented by the Franklin Reporter & Advocate. Period. We are the only truly independent media serving the Eight Villages.

But we can only do that with your support. Please consider a yearly subscription to our online news site; at $37 a year, it’s one of the best investments you can make in our community.

To subscribe, please click here.

Other News From The Eight Villages …