Danielsen Wins Assembly Race In 17th District

2015 Election1

State Assemblyman Joe Danielsen (D-17) addresses the crowd at the township Democrats’ victory party Nov. 3 in Cafe Alfredo’s.

Incumbent state Assemblyman Joe Danielsen (D-17) easily won election to his first full term in the lower house in the Nov. 3 election.

Danielsen’s running mate, Joseph Egan of New Brunswick, also won his re-election bid.

Danielsen was chosen by the district Democrats to replace former Assemblyman Upendra Chivukula upon the latter’s appointment to a seat on the state Board of Public Utilities.

The 17th Legislative District is comprised of Franklin, Milltown, New Brunswick, North Brunswick and Piscataway.

Overall, Danielsen received 13,315 votes, while Eagan received 13,333 votes.

In Franklin Township, with all but the 23rd district reporting, Danielsen received 5,274 votes and Eagan received 5,119 votes.

On the Republican side, Robert Mettler – also a township resident – received a total of 6,302 votes and Brajesh Singh received 5,383 votes.

In the township, Mettler received 2,863 votes and Singh received 2,319 votes.

Green Party candidate Molly O’Brien received 974 votes altogether, and 311 in Franklin.

Danielsen said the victory belonged to the Democratic Party.

“It’s just my order to go to work,” he said. “I will earn their trust every single day.”

Your Thoughts


Please Support Independent Journalism In Franklin Township!

No other media outlet covering Franklin Township brings you the depth of information presented by the Franklin Reporter & Advocate. Period. We are the only truly independent media serving the Eight Villages.

But we can only do that with your support. Please consider a yearly subscription to our online news site; at $37 a year, it’s one of the best investments you can make in our community.

To subscribe, please click here.

Other News From The Eight Villages …