Spring Hills Somerset Wins National Award

Spring Hills Somerset Assisted Living has been recognized as a 2017 recipient of the Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award by the American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL), the leading association for long term and post-acute care.

The award was given for the center’s dedication to improving the lives of residents through quality care, according to a press release from Spring Hills. The distinction is one of three progressive award levels through the National Quality Award Program, which honors association members across the nation that has demonstrated their commitment to improving quality of care for seniors and persons with disabilities.

“It’s an honor to be recognized for our commitment to delivering quality care to our residents,” Adrianne Hill, executive director of Spring Hills Somerset, said in the release. “We always strive to give the finest care to our residents and receiving the Bronze Award in recognition of this is a wonderful honor. Our shared motivation to achieve excellence has made our community even stronger.”

“At Spring Hills, we believe in our motto, ‘Caring with a Commitment to Quality,’ and we continue to strive to live up to that high expectation,” Alexander Markowits, Spring Hills Senior Communities president and CEO, said in the release. “It is a continuous process to ensure that we are providing the finest care. We hire outstanding associates, incorporate the most up-to-date technology and have core competencies in place for our residents, families and associates. I congratulate the team and I am very proud of everyone at Spring Hills Somerset for earning this award.”

The National Quality Award Program, which AHCA/NCAL established in 1996, is based on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, which is also the foundation of the metric-based AHCA/NCAL Quality Initiative. The Baldrige program helps organizations in different business sectors improve and achieve performance excellence.

The Award Program has three levels: Bronze, Silver, and Gold. Providers begin the quality improvement process at the Bronze level, where they develop an organizational profile with essential performance elements such as vision, mission statement, and key strengths and challenges. Bronze applicants must also demonstrate their ability to implement a performance improvement system. Trained Examiners review each Bronze application to determine if the center has met the demands of the criteria. As a recipient of the Bronze – Commitment to Quality Award, Spring Hills Somerset may now move forward in developing approaches and achieving performance levels that meet the Silver – Achievement in Quality Award criteria.

“I commend Spring Hills Somerset for embarking on the journey to quality improvement,” Alana Wolfe, the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Board of Overseers chair, said in the release. “I encourage Spring Hills Somerset to continue to build on the strong foundation it has created.”

The awards will be presented during AHCA/NCAL’s 68th Annual Convention and Exposition in Las Vegas, Nevada, October 15-18, 2017.


Your Thoughts


Please Support Independent Journalism In Franklin Township!

No other media outlet covering Franklin Township brings you the depth of information presented by the Franklin Reporter & Advocate. Period. We are the only truly independent media serving the Eight Villages.

But we can only do that with your support. Please consider a yearly subscription to our online news site; at $37 a year, it’s one of the best investments you can make in our community.

To subscribe, please click here.

Other News From The Eight Villages …