Hill, Chavkin Named FHS Fall Athletes Of The Year

Franklin High School fall athletes and their parents gathered at the school Jan. 9 for the fall awards ceremony.

Cross country phenom Billy Hill and girls’ soccer star Kimberly Chavkin were named the Franklin High School fall “Athletes of the Year” at the Jan. 9 athletes award night.

Members of all fall sports teams – football, boys’ and girls’ soccer, tennis, cheerleading, cross country and field hockey – gathered in the Frank Pepe Theatre to receive certificates letters and a variety of awards.

The evening was sponsored by the FHS Athletics Booster Club.

After a general assembly in the theater, students and their parents split into individual classrooms to continue the ceremony.

High school principal Cheryl Clark told the students that there was much of which they should be proud.

“What I saw was a group of dedicated students, you came to practice every day, and it is a challenge to be an athlete and a student, because you not only have to go out on that field every single day and perform during practice, because you have to show the coaches that you’re really serious about this, then you go out and you compete and still have to go home, finish the homework, finish that project and everything else without extra time,” she said. “To be able to do that shows that you have perseverance, you definitely are mature, and understand what life is about.”

Clark said during the season, she watched how the players came together as teams.

FHS athletic director Ken Margolin congratulated the athletes.

“They really acted like teams, which means that they looked at each other as brother and sister, they had each other’s back, they cheered each other on and it is phenomenal to see that,” she said. “We will continue to work … we will continue to show what Franklin is about. And what we’re about is one Warrior, one pride.”

Board of Education president Ed Potosnak acknowledged the athletes’ parents.

“I want to recognize your parents, for always being there, for picking you up and dropping you off and dealing with late practices and everything else,” he said.

“Not every school district is afforded with the opportunity to provide students with as many experiences, and we’re really proud of the accomplishments that you’ve made, and wish you continued success as you go on into other sports throughout the year and through your academic pursuits,” he said.

FHS athletic director Ken Margolin also congratulated the athletes, and said the school had the “best coaches in the state.”

The four-year letter winners honored at the ceremony were:

Cross Country

  • Jeffrey Kinghorn
  • Malika Lewis
  • Avinash Maniam
  • Grace Proctor

Boys’ Soccer

  • Dmitry Grachev

Girls’ Soccer

  • Kimberly Chavkin
  • Chelsea Jankowski
  • Isabella jara
  • Alanis Krikorian
  • Zaya Kuroda-Grauer
  • Molly Swayne
  • Ariyonna Wright

Fall Cheerleading

  • Catherine Haseloff

Field Hockey

  • Chloe Conover
  • Karmen Normandia

The following 2016 fall varsity athletes were also honored:


Madelyn Aguilar
Gabriela Delgado
Alexia Fraser
Lekha Gowda
Selma Mehmedagic
Jenna Michell
Stephen Missal
Caroline Mwenda
Kimorai Smith


Rebecca Akande
Shaylah Anderson
Ryan Arnold
Kayla Arrington
Jahnavi Bavuluri
Jordyn Byrd
Jalahn Dabney
Jordan Davis
Nina Fowler
Candace Gely
Anthony Gordon
Kimoni Greene
Asante Harris
Tiffany Herrera
Christopher Hill
Mariama Kamara
Kamari Kelton
Samuel Lee
Zyh’onna McDougald
Mekayla Moore
Monet Murray
Gabrielle Negvesky
Arnaldo Paz Martinez
Shreya Pugalia
Brooke Sachau
Damoni Shelley
Kwame Shepherd
Alysia Stephens
Zanthius Sullivan
Tyriana Taylor
Thomas Thigpen
Danielle Trovato
Sarah Vickerie
Jordyn Wright
Cindy Zhang


Krysten Acevedo
Toneukarin Agbeyegbe
Daniel Allegro
Tayo Badru
Briseidy Balderas
Daryan Calles-Martinez
Kristina Casisa
Nicole Chalecki
Gabriella Consiglio
Chezney Davis
Lynnette Gladys Deensie
Kayla Dehogues
Christopher Destin
Nicolas DiMeglio
Daniella Emmer
Brandon Erazo
Clayborne Fields III
Olivia Fraser
Malcolm Gaines
Andrea Gallagher
Lance Grant
Dominique Hazel-Criss
Eileen Hennessy
Jamille Holmes
Ibrahim Kamara
Allison Kline
Jessica Kunz
Kiana Lee
Kevin Lewis
Kelssy Marte
Alexia Miles
Mikaela Mitchell
Brandon Myers
Kaitlyn Orsini
Juan Peral-Carino
Akil Prevost
Danielle Printon
Abolee Raut
Tykey Reinberry
Emma Richter
Morgan Riddick
Catherine Rodriguez
Derek Ryan
Antonio Scott
Jasmine Shekari-Nejad
Jillian Singer
Allyson Smith
Gabrielle Sobon
Summer Thompson
Jonisha Trivers
Lauren Vladyka
Tara Weniger
Nadayzia Williams
Ronald Williams


Adedayo Adebo
Christian Adjei
Melanie Aguilar
Tobechi Alade
Christopher Anderson
Myles Anderson
Da’Jah Aultman
Kiana Azcona
Shanice Bailey
Aaliyah Bangura
Alyssa Bello
Samuel Benson
Chloe Bogen
Marlon Boston
Arianna Brody
Hunter Casazza
Kimberly Chavkin
Nasir Cole
Chloe Conover
Cameron Consiglio
Rodney Crawford
Niya Darby
Brian DiNicola
Avanti Fernandes
Daniel Flores-Romero
Sindhu Gowda
Dmitry Grachev
Catherine Haseloff
Eric Healy
Helal Helal
Gianni High
William Hill
Tyler Howard
Chelsea Jankowski
Isabella Jara
Jeffrey Kinghorn
Abu Kossay
Alanis Krikorian
Zaya Kuroda-Grauer
Malika Lewis
Jailene Liz
Skeeter Machana
Avinash Maniam
Barry McCloud
Maria Melendez
William Miles
Kenneth Millman
Karmen Normandia
Alfred Osei
Grace Proctor
Keenan Reid
Shasa Revell
Marcus Roberts
Boluwatife Sanya
Troy Schenck
Khari Shepherd
Molly Swayne
DeAndre Taylor
Melissa Tu
Omar Valentin
Timothy Van
Ariyonna Wright


Your Thoughts


Please Support Independent Journalism In Franklin Township!

No other media outlet covering Franklin Township brings you the depth of information presented by the Franklin Reporter & Advocate. Period. We are the only truly independent media serving the Eight Villages.

But we can only do that with your support. Please consider a yearly subscription to our online news site; at $37 a year, it’s one of the best investments you can make in our community.

To subscribe, please click here.

Other News From The Eight Villages …