FHS Warriors Hall Of Fame Inducts Class Of 2018

Members of the Franklin High School Warriors Athletic Hall of Fame pose prior to the induction ceremony.

Five individual athletes, a former coach and a team are the members of the Franklin Township High School Warriors Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2018.

The honorees were feted during a Nov. 24 luncheon at Franklin High School.

This is the second consecutive year that a HOF class has been inducted. Prior to last year, the only year a class was inducted was 2006.

“It’s all about honoring the individuals,” said Daryn Plummer, the hall of fame committee’s president. “Coaches, teams that have come before you and done wonderful things, they have great accomplishments. This is a way for us to honor that, and to kind of build a bridge a between what’s happening now, and what’s already happened in our Franklin High School history.”

“A lot of these people here this afternoon were people that I looked up to as a kid,” said the committee’s vice president, Nick Solomon. “I was at their games, I was rooting them on and they motivated me to be an athlete.”

“It also means a lot that we have a storied program,” he said. “Franklin High School’s past is rich. To be able to do something like this means a lot to me. Sports is a big part of my life.”

Solomon said the process of choosing who should be in this year’s class was difficult.

“There are so many deserving people, so you have to live by the by-laws that we have,” he said.

“There’s so many deserving people, so many coaches, so many teams, that’s why it’s so important to do this year after year, so we’re able to recognize those who need o be recognized,” he said.

During the ceremony, Plummer said the inductees “so richly contributed to our athletics program, our school and our community in such a way that we are honored to celebrate them.”

“Many individuals have been instrumental in maintaining the Warrior tradition of excellence and have exemplary accomplishments in athletics,” he said. “The Franklin High School Athletic Hall of Fame honors the contributions and accomplishments of these individuals who are worthy of recognition as examples to emulate for our student athletes who are in the high school today.”

“You represent a very select and prestigious group of individuals who were chosen by their school community for recognition of their athletic arena,” Solomon told the inductees. “You have left a legacy in Franklin High School.”

“This induction ceremony provides us with one more opportunity for he school community to honor all of you,” he said. “I hope you can enjoy the special recognition that you so richly deserve.”

The members of the FHS Warrior Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2018 are:

  • Heidi Nestvogel, ’80; Softball
  • Jenna Griffin, ’03; Women’s Track & Field
  • Joe Porter, ’07; Football, Men’s Track & Field
  • Kevin Lyles, ’91; Men’s Track & Field
  • Ross Edfort, ’11; Diving
  • Sandra Sa’nchez, Tennis and Freshman Softball Coach 1969-2010
  • 1988-89 Men’s Track Team:
    • Craig Ashford
    • Albert Bell
    • Clinton Bell
    • Tony Brooks
    • Shawn Brooks
    • Keith Brunson
    • Kyle Brunson
    • Syndon Cunningham
    • Jeff Fredrick
    • Jason Gallicchio
    • Wayman Gibson
    • James Grbac
    • Karon Henderson
    • Andrew Jackson
    • Daryl Jackson
    • Chris Kelly
    • Kevin Kelley
    • Jacques Luckner
    • Kevin Lyles
    • Abdul Mustapha
    • Taryn Presley
    • David Sanders
    • David Stewart
    • Keith Sewart
    • Louis Solomon
    • Chris Southerland
    • Jamal Wade
    • Jonathan Walker

In addition to Plummer and Solomon, members of the hall of fame committee are:

  • Tania Kelly
  • Ken Margolin
  • Louis Guglielmo
  • Rod Brundidge
  • Larry Zambrowski
  • Louis Solomon
  • Art O’Connor
  • Richard Tyus
  • Robert Edmond
  • Myra Mitchell
  • Jim MacLuskie

Here are some scenes from the afternoon:


Your Thoughts


Please Support Independent Journalism In Franklin Township!

No other media outlet covering Franklin Township brings you the depth of information presented by the Franklin Reporter & Advocate. Period. We are the only truly independent media serving the Eight Villages.

But we can only do that with your support. Please consider a yearly subscription to our online news site; at $37 a year, it’s one of the best investments you can make in our community.

To subscribe, please click here.

Other News From The Eight Villages …