Council Rekindles ‘Green Team’ To Improve Franklin’s Environment

1-12-16 Meeting - 14

Deputy Mayor Ted Chase was tapped for the township’s renewed “Green Team.”

The township’s dormant “Green Team” was re-established by the Township Council at the Jan. 12 meeting.

The council passed a resolution to rekindle the team and appoint its members.

In addition to devising strategies to improve the township’s environment, the Green Team is a prerequisite for attaining any status in the “Sustainable Jersey” program in which more than 400 towns throughout the state participate.

Sustainable Jersey is a coalition composed of the New Jersey State League of Municipalities, Rutgers University, the College of New Jersey, the NJ Department of Environmental Protection, the New Jersey Board of Public Utilities, and a coalition of NJ nonprofits, state agencies, and experts in the field, according to the resolution.

There are two certification levels possible in Sustainable Jersey, bronze and silver. The township attained bronze status in 2010, and had it re-certified in 2013.

According to the resolution, the Green Team was re-established:

  • To generally advise the Mayor and Council on “greening” and sustainability matters;
  • To solicit grants, with Council approval;
  • To research and evaluate, or coordinate the research and evaluation of “sustainable”
    actions that would be beneficial to the Franklin Community; and
  • To develop and coordinate the implementation of actions as outlined by Sustainable
    Jersey that will maintain the Township’s bronze level certification and lead to silver level
    certification. To that end, the Green Team may establish subcommittees as needed to
    carry out specific actions or focus on specific areas of interest.

Named to the Green Team were:

  • Theodore Chase Jr. Deputy Mayor, Planning Board Member and Sustainable Jersey Contact
  • Walter Andrews Chair, Environmental Commission
  • Paul Walitsky Member, Environmental Commission
  • Cecile MacIvor Member, Environmental Commission
  • Sara Malone Member, Shade Tree Commission
  • Constance Coriell Energy Efficiency Coordinator, Franklin Township Board of Education
  • Robert Vornlocker Township Manager
  • Tiffany Delaney Special Projects Coordinator
  • Carl Hauck Manager of Public Works & Water Department
  • Mark Healey Director of Planning and Land Use
  • Justin Heyman Director of Information and Technology
  • Frances Varacalli Open Space Consultant
  • Michael Burke Director – Product Sustainability, Colgate-Palmolive Company


Your Thoughts


Please Support Independent Journalism In Franklin Township!

No other media outlet covering Franklin Township brings you the depth of information presented by the Franklin Reporter & Advocate. Period. We are the only truly independent media serving the Eight Villages.

But we can only do that with your support. Please consider a yearly subscription to our online news site; at $37 a year, it’s one of the best investments you can make in our community.

To subscribe, please click here.

Other News From The Eight Villages …