Cedar Hill Prep School Students Excel In Spanish Exam, Solar Competition

Cedar Hill Solar

Cedar Hill Prep 8th Graders competed in the 2016 Solar Jam. Team members are: Top: Chahat Mittal, Simone Thompson, Elaine Chen, Megha Thomas, Ashna Kelkar, Sarah Abraham, Esha Trivedi, Zoe Rivera. Bottom: Aarthi Venkata, Shwetha Rajagopala. Photo: Cedar Hill Prep School.

Submitted by Cedar Hill Prep School.

Cedar Hill Preparatory School students won a local solar car competition, and also achieved high scores on the National Spanish Exam.

A group of Cedar Hill 8th Graders competed in the Solar Jam competition in Princeton on May 14, part of the Junior Solar Sprints program sponsored by PSEG and organized by OASIS (Organizing Action on Sustainability in Schools), a local non-profit school consortium. The program is a STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) competition that engages students to design, build and race solar-powered model cars.

After months of building, testing and experimentation, students compete in five divisional races for the fastest, most innovative and best-engineered vehicles. The winners from these division races go on to compete against the best of the best at the Inter-County Final.

Cedar Hill Prep School won all three prizes in their division races at Princeton:

  • 1st Prize – Elaine Chen, Megha Thomas and Simone Thompson
  • 2nd Prize – Ashna Kelkar, Sarah Abraham and Kathryn Litkowski
  • 3rd Prize – Aarthi Venkata, Chahat Mittal, Shreya Krishna and Shwetha Rajagopalan

The First Place winners will be participating in the Regional Inter County Final on May 23 at Ridgedale Middle School, Florham Park.

Cedar Hill Spanish ExamJPG

Students achieving high scores on the National Spanish Exam were, left to right, Arjun Argrawal, Megha Thomas, Vyomini Vakil, Katherine Lytkowski, and Natasha Gupta. Photo: Cedar Hill Prep School.

At the beginning of April, all Cedar Hill Prep Spanish students in grades 6 to 8 took the National Spanish Exam. The top three categories and winners are:

Gold Medal Recipient:
Vyomini Vakil

Silver medal recipients:
Arjun Agrawal
Kathryn Lytkowski
Megha Thomas

Bronze Medal Recipients:
Nitasha Gupta
Chloe Gocher
Aarthi Venkata

Your Thoughts


Please Support Independent Journalism In Franklin Township!

No other media outlet covering Franklin Township brings you the depth of information presented by the Franklin Reporter & Advocate. Period. We are the only truly independent media serving the Eight Villages.

But we can only do that with your support. Please consider a yearly subscription to our online news site; at $37 a year, it’s one of the best investments you can make in our community.

To subscribe, please click here.

Other News From The Eight Villages …